

Nineteenth Regular Meeting of the Inter-American Board of Agriculture (IABA)

Rotation of Member States on the Executive Committee for the period 2019-2033

IICA/JIA/Doc. 388 (17) Original: Spanish

San Jose, Costa Rica 25-26 October 2017

ROTATION OF MEMBER STATES ON THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE FOR THE PERIOD 2019-2033

Background

- Articles 8.e and 13 of the Convention on the Institute, Articles 2.e and 4.d of the Rules of Procedures of the Inter-American Board of Agriculture (IABA), and Article 5 of the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Committee establish that the Executive Committee shall be composed of twelve Member States, elected by the Inter-American Board of Agriculture (IABA), for two-year periods, according to the criteria of partial rotation and equitable geographical distribution, and that the IABA shall regulate the manner in which the Member States are appointed to sit on the Committee.
- Article 6 of the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Committee establishes the procedure governing membership on the Committee.
- The table setting out membership on the Executive Committee, adopted by Resolution IICA/JIA/Res. 2 (I-E/81) was amended in 1983 by Resolution IICA/JIA/Res. 25 (II-E/83); in 1987 by Resolution IICA/JIA/Res. 126 (IV-O/87); in 1991 by Resolution IICA/JIA/Res. 205 (VI-O/91); in 1993 by Resolution IICA/JIA/Res. 238 (VII-O/93); in 1997 by Resolution IICA/CE/Res. 278 (XVII-O/97); and in 2003 by Resolution IICA/JIA/Res. 396 (XII-O/03).
- The table establishing membership on the Executive Committee covers only the 2004-2018 period and, as a result, a new table must be approved (See Annex No. 1).

ANNEX No. 1

PROPOSAL FOR ROTATION OF MEMBER STATES ON THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE FOR THE PERIOD 2019-2033

COUNTRY		PARTICIPATION PERIODS													
GROUL	P 19	20	21	22	23	24	25	26	27	28	29	30	31	32	33
GROUP I						1									
United States of America															
Argentina															
Mexico															
Canada															
Brazil															
Venezuela															
GROUP II															
Colombia															
Chile															
Peru															
Uruguay															
Bolivia															
Paraguay															
Ecuador															
GROUP III								•							
Costa Rica															
Panama															
Nicaragua															
Honduras															
Guatemala															
El Salvador															
Dominican Republic															
Belize															
GROUP IV															
Haiti															
Guyana															
Suriname															
Barbados															
Grenada															
Trinidad and Tobago															
Jamaica															
Dominica															
Saint Lucia															
Antigua and Barbuda															
St. Vincent and the Grenadines															
St. Kitts and Nevis															
The Bahamas															